New Jersey’s Minimum Wage to Rise to $15 Per Hour
On February 4, 2019, Governor Phil Murphy signed into law a bill (A-15) that will increase New Jersey’s minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2024 for the majority of New Jersey’s workers. Pursuant to the new law, the State’s minimum wage, which is currently $8.85 per hour, will increase according to the following schedule:
- $10 per hour on July 1, 2019
- $11 per hour on January 1, 2020
- $12 per hour on January 1, 2021
- $13 per hour on January 1, 2022
- $14 per hour on January 1, 2023
- $15 per hour on January 1, 2024
Notably, certain types of employees are placed on a slower path to $15. For example, seasonal workers and employees working for businesses that employ 5 employees or less will not reach $15 per hour until 2026. The minimum wage for farm workers will increase to $12.50 by 2024, with the possibility to attain $15 per hour by 2027 if approved by state officials.
New Jersey has now joined California, Massachusetts, New York, and Washington D.C., as well as other cities and localities, in raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour.
As the law continues to evolve on these matters, please note that this article is current as of date and time of publication and may not reflect subsequent developments. The content and interpretation of the issues addressed herein is subject to change. Cole Schotz P.C. disclaims any and all liability with respect to actions taken or not taken based on any or all of the contents of this publication to the fullest extent permitted by law. This is for general informational purposes and does not constitute legal advice or create an attorney-client relationship. Do not act or refrain from acting upon the information contained in this publication without obtaining legal, financial and tax advice. For further information, please do not hesitate to reach out to your firm contact or to any of the attorneys listed in this publication.
Join Our Mailing List
Stay up to date with the latest insights, events, and more